Friedrich Nietzche: Monster

“Battle not with monsters, lest ye become a monster, and if you gaze into the abyss, the abyss gazes also into you.”  Friedrich Nietzsche

What does this mean to you?

Terry Elkins (whyguy)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whyguy
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 13:04:23

    Deel, you did great, and I think you are right. We can not stoop down to others level, we must rise above them. If we do not stay true to who we are we give our power away to the monsters in our lives.

    Monsters don’t have to be people, they can be life circumstances. Monsters can be worry, envy, greed, jealously, etc…

    The old saying: “What we resist persist” comes to mind when I think of this quote. This is why I don’t stare into the abyss. I give these things no attention, and soon my problems fade away like a shadow at dusk.

    To dwell in the abyss, is to dwell in misery.

    Terry (whyguy)

    Reply

  2. DeeL
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 08:17:32

    Alright, let me see how my mind interpreted this quote. Here we go:

    In the first part of the sentence, Nietzsche asserts that the best way of dealing with monstrous people or monstrous events in general is to merely accept and not fight back. And if it happens that you resist and react quite strongly, it means that you’ve “become a monster”.

    In the second part, Nietzsche points out to the fact that focusing and mulling over the empty gaps in your life, “the abyss” only makes those gaps intesify and increase in number.

    Well, I’m not sure how well I’ve done; but that’s the way I read it 😉

    Thanks Terry for giving my mind an early morning exercise 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

